Qatar 2022 It’s foul – Ex-EPL referee admits Sampaio made mistake during England’s World Cup defeat. Wilton Pereira Sampaio, a World Cup official, didn’t execute to the desired standard during England’s 2-1 quarterfinal loss to France, according to former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher.
After falling to France at the Al Bayt Stadium in Qatar on Saturday, England was eliminated from the World Cup competition.
English players expressed their displeasure with the official during the game and have subsequently called referee Sampaio’s performance “a farce.”
Gallagher agrees that Sampaio did not perform well on game day and that it was a clear error to not give the Three Lions a free kick for the foul on Bukayo Saka before to France’s opening goal.
I believe that to be a foul. You can clearly see that there was a foul, in my opinion, Gallagher told Sky Sports.
“If the referee misses it, the assistant has an excellent view because he is standing very, very near and is staring directly at it. If the assistant had raised a flag, everyone would have agreed with that choice.
The 25 seconds between the incident and the France goal is the next issue. As far as we are aware, VAR would never go back that far in the Premier League. VAR is not intended to be used for such.