Qatar 2022 I won’t say Argentina were helped, but I’ve spoken to the referee – Deschamps. Didier Deschamps, the head coach of France, has voiced his displeasure with several of the officiating calls made during the 2022 World Cup final on Sunday.
After falling to Argentina 4-2, Les Bleus were unable to defend the crown.
Deschamps has since contested the penalty awarded when Angel Di Maria was knocked to the ground by Ousmane Dembele’s tackle.
In order to score the goal and give his side the lead early on, Lionel Messi stepped up.
Before Kylian Mbappe’s hat trick sent the game into overtime, Angel Di Maria made it 2-0.
The game was subsequently decided by a penalty shootout thanks to goals from Messi and Mbappe.
Deschamps stated, “I remarked before the game that Argentina had been fortunate.
“I’m not claiming they received assistance. I have however talked with the referee.